Get involved! Send your photos, video, news & views by texting WN NEWS to 80360 or e-mail us
Neighbours of 60 years ago meet up
RESIDENTS from a Worcester street demolished in the 1950s were reunited – some for the first time since they left – to remember their former homes.
Earlier this year, photographs emerged of George’s Yard, the court behind Greyfriars house and garden, in Friar Street, which were published to see if anyone could remember living on the site. Ted and Tess Green sent us the photograph below showing the funeral of Mrs Green’s sister, Maisy, in 1936. She was living in George’s Yard and died aged nine Although Greyfriars dates back to 1480, the garden was only created 60 years ago, when George’s Yard was demolished and the residents rehoused. Staff at the National Trust property were surprised by the response they received from people who lived in the development, ready to tell the tales of their childhoods spent in the area. House and visitor services manager at Greyfriars, Rachael Trimm, said: “We have been inundated with calls, photos and memories of George’s Yard and heard about some of the hidden stories that happened here more than half a century ago.” Now, the team at Greyfriars has created a small exhibition using these memories and photos. And for the first time in more than 60 years, a group of people who lived in the yard came back to Greyfriars to see what used to be their community. Many, although all still living in Worcester, had not seen each other since they were children. Visitors can now see this slice of hidden history for themselves at Greyfriars, with the exhibition open until Saturday, October 19.