DIANE Meakin recorded a gross score of 79 for the second time this year to lift the ladies’ Silver Scratch Cup at The Worcestershire.

Despite heavy overnight rain and early morning fog which left the Malvern Wells course playing long, she produced a trophy-winning round which reduced her handicap to eight.

Leader in the clubhouse for much of the day, Cath Francis, finished two strokes back on 81 while Cathy Harris recovered from a poor front nine to finish third with 83.

In equally challenging conditions, the Bronze Scratch Cup was contested by 23 players with Kate Foster the only one to break 100.

Her score of 98 was two better than Jill Brierly.

Ruth Scott finished third a further three strokes back.

Meanwhile, the Deerhurst Cup, limited to men with handicaps of 13 to 28, saw a good entry of 65 players.

Division Two’s Mike Day (handicap 20) went out in 43 and back in 45 to lift the cup with nett 68.

He was followed closely by Guy Ralphs (18) on 69 and Edward Gaynor-Smith (22) on 70.

Alaster Renton (13) headed Division One with 73 ahead of Rob Merley (17) and Gary Eames (14) with both on 75.

Sixteen-year-old Renton joined forces with Tom Davies to win their game two-up in The Worcestershire A team’s 4-2 defeat of visitors Droitwich.

The other winning pairings were Rich Higgs and Dave Tucker 8&7, Paul Wakely and Gez Bird 2&1 and Steve Lane and Nick Day 5&4.

A ladies' team recorded a 2½-1½ victory at Evesham.

The winning pairs were team captain Jill Piner and Maureen Riley and Pauline Savage and Jane Quick while Hazel Cartledge and Janet Manning-Cox halved.

In the last club match of the season, captain John Williams led a men’s team to a 3-3 draw at Minchinhampton.

All games were close and the winning pairs were Williams and Jim Wilde, Gary Eames and Dave Turner and Wes Curtis and Steve Bradshaw.

In club competitions, the men’s midweek stableford was won by Dave Wood with 35 points ahead of Michael Lloyd on 33 and Barry Tuck on 32.

The ladies’ nine-hole stableford saw a win for Pauline Taylor with 16 points, one stroke clear of Davina Taylor, with Marie Willis third on 14.

Two club matches were played in memory of former members.

The Carr-Morgan Trophy, which pits men against ladies, honours the life and golfing career of the late Marion Carr, a former Worcestershire county champion, and her golfing partner Heather Morgan.

The latter presented the trophy to the winning side’s captain Elsie Kelsall.

A memorial trophy celebrating the life of Linda Mackie is played for annually between lady members born north or south of Worcester.

The event was attended by members of the popular member's family and was won for the first time this year by players representing the south.