HIMBLETON'S Worcestershire League Division Three title-winning season ended in a six-wicket defeat to runners-up Kempsey.

In a case of after the Lord Mayor's show following last week's celebrations Himbleton struggled for motivation and runs as Kempsey's bowlers found a good line and length.

Only explosive innings from Rich Pretty (43) and Sean Jenkins (44) propelled the Meadow Boys to a respectable total.

A flurry of late-order wickets led captain Stuart Dickenson to declare on 165-8 from 39 overs. 

Kempsey's reply was again built around their talisman Zak O'Neill (82 not out) as he led his side to victory with four wickets down off 35 overs. 

Dickenson said: "It was a lacklustre end to the season but nothing can take away the fact we've had a brilliant season and ended up as champions.

"It was a magnificent team effort to win this division and I'm really pleased for everyone involved at Himbleton."

Rushwick secured their status for 2018 as they overcame a spirited Astwood Bank in the battle against relegation.

Paul Wyatt scored 59 as the hosts edged home by two wickets to send Bank down.

Bartestree and Lugwardine sneaked into third following a last-over two-wicket victory at Malvern.

Edd Rodgers clattered 170no for Alvechurch and Hopwood at relegated Himley to ensure fifth spot.

Five Ways Old Edwardians finished sixth as James East’s career-best 7-32 helped dismiss Martley for 86.

Malvern got seventh place followed by Avoncroft, Rushwick and Martley.

Hanley Castle and Upton won Division Four to reach the highest level in their history after chasing down the 161 target relegated basement boys Worcester set them.

Their experience at the top of the order paid dividends as club stalwart Grant Mathews led them to a six-wicket victory with nine overs to spare.

Second-placed Bromsgrove dismissed lowly Hallow for 106 and secured a six-wicket win.

Alexander Mason's 101 helped Tenbury retain third position with a winning draw against West Malvern just below them despite Will Lloyd's 90.

Claverley consolidated fifth with victory over Kidderminster in sixth and Stourport finished seventh after a winning draw at relegated Old Elizabethans.

A thrilling finale to Old Vigornians' season saw them secure a draw to avoid the drop in their first season in Division Two.

Bromyard fell eight runs short of victory at the end of a final over which began with all results still possible.

The winning draw gave OVs enough points to overtake Wormelow into fourth-from-bottom position and a last-minute win by champions Chaddesley Corbett over Lye meant their Black Country opponents were relegated with Harborne. 

Worcester club OVs batted first on an excellent New Road pitch and posted one of their highest scores this season.

Brothers Osman and Ahsan Fiaz fell for 24 and 30 respectively.

Captain Osman finished the campaign with 800 runs and won the Bailey Cup for player of the season.

Will Burgyone (29) and Chris Drew (34) kept things going before Alex Parker and Charlie Lamb stepped up a gear.

Parker made 58 in 21 balls with seven sixes and two fours while Lamb got 44 in 28, hitting four sixes and three fours.

Dave Haddock struck a six and a four in 11no from five deliveries.

OVs made 273-7 in 50 overs and all-rounder Greg Leighton took 3-61 from 17 overs. 

After skipper Edd Oliver went early Rob Willis (75) and Zahid Saeed (30) added 102 for Bromyard's second wicket.

George Leighton added 55 and Greg Leighton 42no.

Veteran seamer Azmat Riaz bowled well at the death for 2-59 from 16 overs as Bromyard finished on 266-5.

Eastnor were relegated from Division One after a five-wicket defeat in their final crunch clash at Pedmore.

Despite Waqas Ahmed's 63 the home attack dismissed the Herefordshire side for 160 before Dan Jones led with 70no to steer Pedmore to safety.

Following Redditch’s championship triumph Cookley lost at relegated Droitwich which allowed Bewdley to grab the runners-up spot as Jack Mills (5-51) ensured they crawled over the line at Worcester by 13 runs.

Stourport finished fourth behind Cookley as Ryan Derrick (4-38) helped dismiss lowly Burghill, Tillington and Weobley for 99 to set up an easy win.

Hagley finished fifth despite losing to Feckenham and Worcester were sixth followed by Feckenham, Burghill and Colwall whose match at Redditch was abandoned.


Cookley 132 a/o 2 P. Thomas 5-34, Droitwich 133-6 20 M. Young 51. Droitwich won by 4 wickets.

Feckenham 307-6 24 T. Coulson 120, J. Griffiths 82 - J. Russell 4-101, Hagley 167 a/o 3 J. Lennon 74. Feckenham won by 140 runs.

Eastnor 166 a/o 3 W. Ahmed 61, Pedmore 170-5 20 D. Jones 70*. Pedmore won by 5 wickets.

Redditch 5, Colwall 5. Match Abandoned.

Burghill, Tillington & Weobley 99 a/o 1 R. Derrick 4-38, Stourport 100-3 24. Stourport won by 7 wickets.

Bewdley 143 a/o 24 C. Steele 6-37, Worcester 129 a/o 4 J. Mills 5-51. Bewdley won by 14 runs.


Lye 179-9 5, Chaddesley Corbett 180-8 20 B. Hassan 60. Chaddesley Corbett won by 2 wickets.

Bredon 104 a/o 0 R. Parfitt 5-41, Enville 108-1 20. Enville won by 9 wickets.

Harborne 5, Evesham 5. Match Abandoned.

Oldswinford & Stour Social 150-9 3, Coombs Wood 151-6 20. Coombs Wood won by 5 wickets.

Old Vigornians 273-7 14 A. Parker 58, Bromyard 266-5 9 R. Willis 75, G. Leighton 55. Old Vigornians winning draw.

Belbroughton 176-7 24 J. Hawk 55, T. Oliver 50* - J. Puri 5-48, Wormelow 120 a/o 3 R. Hawk 5-34. Belbroughton won by 56 runs.


Martley 86 a/o 4 J. East 7-32, Five Ways Old Edwardians 89-8 24 M. Johnson 5-50. Five Ways Old Edwardians won by 2 wickets.

Alvechurch & Hopwood 331-2 16 E. Rodgers 170*, N. Jones 84*, Himley 181-6 2. Alvechurch & Hopwood winning draw.

Himbleton 165-8 2 S. Winstanley 4-33, Kempsey 166-4 24 Z. O'Neill 82*. Kempsey won by 6 wickets.

Malvern 190-6 5 O.Halion 63, Bartestree & Lugwardine 194-8 20 J.Summerside 76. Bartestree won by 2 wkts.

Netherton 5, Avoncroft 5. Match Abandoned.

Astwood Bank 183-8 20 A. Clayton 88, Rushwick 184-7 5 P. Wyatt 59. Rushwick won by 3 wickets.


Halesowen 5, Alveley 5. Match abandoned no play.

Hallow 106 a/o 1, Bromsgrove 110-4 24. Bromsgrove won by 6 wickets.

Kidderminster 210-7 5 H. Dickens 97 - J. Greenwold 5-40, Claverley 213-6 20 T. Grainger 77*. Claverley won by 4 wickets.

Old Elizabethans 186 a/o 8 A. Mitchell 55, Stourport 135-9 14 A. Lavery 50. Stourport winning draw.

Tenbury 299-8 15 A. Mason 101, K Sellars 73, West Malvern 277-8 9 W. Lloyd 90. Tenbury winning draw.

Worcester 160 a/o 2, Hanley Castle & Upton 162-4 24. Hanley Castle & Upton won by 7 wickets.