THE BEST in the education industry across Worcestershire have been celebrated at the Worcestershire Education Awards.

The award ceremony was held last night (Thursday, April 20) at The Abbey Hotel in Malvern, and 13 awards were given out to some of the most dedicated and hard-working people in the education industry.

This year was the fifth awards ceremony, with the purpose of highlighting those who continue to make a difference in the field of education.

Big winners on the night included Rosemary McNamara, a manager of Little Lodge Nursery in Spetchley, Worcester.

READ MORE: Worcestershire Education Awards 2023

Worcester News: Rosemary McNamara won two awards on the night.Rosemary McNamara won two awards on the night. (Image: Beed Images for Newsquest)

She picked up the award for both Unsung Hero of the Year and Outstanding Commitment to Worcestershire Education.

She said: "This is so amazing. I have been at Little Lodge Nursery for 25 years and have loved every minute. This is just the icing on the cake.

"I am speechless really."

Gloverspiece School, in Ladywood near Droitwich, also received two awards on the night, including the Special Education Needs Award and the Independent School of the Year Award.

Worcester News: The team from Gloverspiece School with one of their awards.The team from Gloverspiece School with one of their awards. (Image: Beed Images for Newsquest)

READ MORE: Worcestershire Education Awards 2023 - the finalists

Jennifer Chaudry, of Gloverspiece School, said: "It is absolutely amazing. The school is such a special place to be.

"We have had children tell us it's the best place they have ever been. 

"The day they walk through those doors they never look back.

"We are just so proud."

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Community Involvement Award: Discover History
  • Special and Education Needs Award: Gloverspiece School
  • Early Years Education Award: Mini Explorers Day Nursery
  • Primary School of the Year: Northwick Manor Primary School
  • Secondary School of the Year: Baxter College
  • Independent School of the Year: Gloverspiece School
  • New Teacher of the Year: Charlotte Smith of Birchen Coppice Primary Academy
  • Support Staff of the Year: Lewis Boulton from the University of Worcester
  • Nursery or Childcare Worker of the Year: Stacey Hope of Magic Moments
  • Teacher/Lecturer of the Year: Emma Mardell of The Orchards School
  • Headteacher/Principal of the Year: Rebecca Scully of Abbey Park Middle School
  • Unsung Hero Award: Rosemary McNamara of the Little Lodge Day Nursery
  • Outstanding Commitment to Worcestershire Education: Rosemary McNamara of the Little Lodge Day Nursery

Want to stay up to date with all the latest news for your local area? It's easy, just sign up for our email newsletters here and all the important stories that matter to you will be delivered straight to your inbox.

The ceremony was hosted by Julian Wharam, a teacher, and Radio Wyvern radio presenter.

The awards are run by Newsquest - publishers of the Worcester News, Malvern Gazette, Evesham Journal, Shuttle, and Bromsgrove and Redditch Advertisers - in association with the University of Worcester.