The Game of Thrones prequel House of the Dragon will be returning for a second series very soon, and fans will be keen to know when it will be released in the UK.

Based on parts of George R. R. Martin's 2018 book Fire & Blood the first series began around 200 years before the start of Game of Thrones.

It portrays the events leading up to the decline of House Targaryen as part of a devastating war of succession known as the 'Dance of the Dragons'.

Like Game of Thrones, House of the Dragon has a huge ensemble task and many big names will be returning for series 2 such as Emma D'Arcy, Matt Smith and Olivia Cooke.

Speaking to Deadline about series 2 showrunner Ryan Condal said: "I’m excited to pick up where we left off.

"Now we get to fall into the more traditional rhythms of storytelling and Game of Thrones.

"We’ve always talked about this particular tale, George [R R Martin] has too, of being a Shakespearean or Greek tragedy."

He continued: "This series is very much about a house tearing itself apart from within. Now that all those pieces have been set on the board, I’m really excited to tell the next chapter, to see what happens now that Viserys is gone and no longer keeping a lid on things.”

House of the Dragon series 2 full cast list

  • Emma D'Arcy as Queen Rhaenyra Targaryen
  • Olivia Cooke as Dowager Queen Alicent Hightower
  • Matt Smith as Prince Daemon Targaryen
  • Rhys Ifans as Ser Otto Hightower
  • Steve Toussaint as Lord Corlys Velaryon
  • Eve Best as Princess Rhaenys Targaryen
  • Sonoya Mizuno as Mysaria
  • Fabien Frankel as Ser Criston Cole
  • Matthew Needham as Lord Larys Strong
  • Jefferson Hall as Lord Jason Lannister and Ser Tyland Lannister
  • Harry Collett as Prince Jacaerys Velaryon

  • Tom Glynn-Carney as King Aegon II Targaryen
  • Ewan Mitchell as Prince Aemond Targaryen
  • Bethany Antonia as Lady Baela Targaryen
  • Phoebe Campbell as Lady Rhaena Targaryen
  • Phia Saban as Queen Helaena Targaryen
  • Oscar Eskinkanzi as Prince Joffrey Velaryon
  • Gayle Rankin as Alys Rivers
  • Simon Russell Beale as Ser Simon Strong 
  • Freddie Fox as Ser Gwayne Hightower 
  • Abubakar Salim as Alyn of Hull
  • Tom Taylor as Lord Cregan Stark
  • Stark Clinton Liberty as Addam of Hull 
  • Jamie Kenna as Ser Alfred Broome
  • Kieran Bew as Hugh Hammer
  • Tom Bennett as Ulf White

Recommended reading:

  • Vincent Regan as Ser Rickard Thorne 
  • Amanda Collin as Lady Jeyne Arryn
  • Sam C. Wilson as Blood
  • Mark Stobbart as Cheese

House of the Dragon series 2 UK release date

The first episode of House of the Dragon series 2 will be available to watch from 2am on Monday, June 17 on Sky Atlantic and NOW.

There will be eight episodes in total for series 2, which will drop weekly in the same time slot.