Tom Collins has been elected as the new MP for Worcester.

The Labour candidate won the city’s seat with 18,622 votes, ahead of Tory candidate Marc Bayliss who won 11,506 votes.

Reform UK’s Andrew Peplow, who was nowhere to be seen at any of the organised election hustings and was not present at tonight’s count, finished third with 6,723.

Tor Pingree won 4,789 votes for the Greens, with Mel Allcott getting 3,986 for the Lib Dems.

Mark Davies of the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition got 280 votes and Duncan Murray of the Social Democratic Party won 130 votes.

The turnout in Worcester was 62 percent, down from 69.5 percent in 2019.

Mr Collins thanked “all of the amazing volunteers and supporters, my family and friends who have put so much into supporting me in this campaign”.

“I am so proud of and thankful for all of you. The biggest sacrifice been made in this campaign has been by my family, who have supported me with kindness, patience, perseverance and positivity.

“But most of all I would like to thank everyone in the faithful city who has put their faith in me and Labour.

“For some of you I know this is the first time in a long time, or perhaps even ever, that you have voted Labour. Thank you. I will do all I can to bring the change that you voted for.”