England and Australia will kick off the highly anticipated 2023 Ashes series today (June 16).

The LV Insurance Ashes Test series will begin at Edgbaston in Birmingham today before heading to Lords (London), Headingly (Leeds), Old Trafford (Manchester) and The Oval (London) in the coming weeks.

Here is all you need to know ahead of the start of the 2023 Ashes series today.

What time does the Ashes start?

We are under an hour away from the start of the 2023 Ashes series. 

Gates at Edgbaston opened at 9am and the first ball of The Ashes will be bowled at 11am.

Worcester News: The first ball of the 2023 Ashes will be bowled at 11am today.The first ball of the 2023 Ashes will be bowled at 11am today. (Image: PA)

Where to watch the Ashes

Sky has the rights to the Ashes and will broadcast all five matches live on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event.

BBC Two will show a highlights package after each day's play at 7pm on a show called Today at the Test.

You can also watch the 2023 Ashes series on Now.

What radio station is the Ashes on?

You will be able to catch every ball of the Ashes on BBC Radio 5 Sports Extra and via their online player.

BBC Test Match Special has the rights to broadcast ball-by-ball commentary of The Ashes, with the team set to bring full coverage every day of the five test series including build-up prior to the start of play.

The coverage will be led by Jonathan Agnew who will be joined by the likes of Isa Guha and Jim Maxwell, with guests including Michael Vaughan, Sir Alastair Cook, Phil Tufnell, Glenn McGrath and Jason Gillespie.

England team for the first Ashes test 

England named their side earlier this week ahead of today's match against the old enemy.

England opted for a pace attack consisting of Stuart Broad, James Anderson and Ollie Robinson. 

Moeen Ali has come out of retirement for The Ashes following the withdrawal of England's usual spinner Jack Leach from the series due to a back injury.

While captain Ben Stokes has been passed as fit after overcoming a knee injury and will take his place in the starting XI today.

England XI

  • Ben Duckett
  • Zak Crawley
  • Ollie Pope
  • Joe Root
  • Harry Brook
  • Ben Stokes (c)
  • Jonny Bairstow (wk)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Stuart Broad
  • Ollie Robinson
  • Jimmy Anderson

Worcester News: Ben Stokes will captain England in the first test at Edgbaston after overcoming a knee injury.Ben Stokes will captain England in the first test at Edgbaston after overcoming a knee injury. (Image: PA)

Australia, fresh from their victory in the World Test Championship final last week against India, are yet to name their playing XI, opting to wait until the toss to reveal their side.

Australia XI

  • Usman Khawaja
  • David Warner
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Steve Smith
  • Travis Head
  • Cameron Green
  • Alex Carey (wk)
  • Pat Cummins (c)
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Josh Hazelwood
  • Scott Boland

Previous Ashes results

Australia is the current holder of the Ashes urn, having won the last series 4-0 at home in 2021/22.

As it stands England has won 32 Ashes series, while Australia has won 34. There have also been six drawn series.