A POPULAR event on the Bransford seniors’ calendar is Age Matters Day.

It has been more significant in recent years after the death of oldest member Stan Parnell, who played past the 90-year mark.

Forty competed off the white tees for the Over 70s Cup and Stan Parnell Trophy for the under 70s.

Phil Spencer (25 handicap) won the Parnell prize in the stableford with 41 points, which was the morning’s best score and six ahead of three others.

The trio on 35 were Lee Dyment (20 handicap), Mike Davidge (18) and Mike Holmes (28) with Davidge taking the over 70s title.

Neil Sheldon (21), Roy Burston (12) and Richard Steele (13) scored 34, John Knowles (23), Roger Steade (25) and Martin Saunders (24) 33 and Roy Williams (20), Paul Edlin (24) and Andy Lamb (26) 32.

Bransford’s Sheldon won the Droitwich Seniors’ Open and Vintage Shield stableford against a 140-strong field with 38 points.

The seniors won 3½-2½ at home to Naunton Downs but lost by the same margin at Kington.

Against Naunton, Rob Blake (14) and John Phillips (22) won two-up, Alan Wallcroft (22) and Paul Edlin (24) lost 3&2, Harry Godwin (17) and Dave Miller (18) won 4&2, Williams and Roger Clark (22) halved, Trevor Atkinson (13) and Ted Buckett (19) won 4&2 and Ian Hamilton (12) and Holmes lost one-down.

Against Kington, Blake and Miller halved, Wallcroft and Williams lost one-down, Atkinson and Clark lost 6&4, Ferey Ghani (15) and Sheldon won 4&2, Hamilton and Phillips won 3&2 and Edlin and Davidge lost two-down.

Bransford had a clean sweep in a mixed home match against Kington. Blake and Anne Hamilton (19) won 4&2, Ian Hamilton and Barbara Ramsden (13) 4&2, Phillips and Pauline Wetton (25) 6&4, Trevor and June Atkinson (17) 3&2, Mike and Cynthia Holmes (32) one-up, Ghani and Leigh Thomas (17) 6&5 and Brian Lawrence (21) and Pat Farr (31) 5&4.

Bransford ladies’ charity challenge was won with 34 stableford points by Ramsden.

The seniors held the summer stableford league third round with Division One won by Trevor Atkinson on 39 from Gerry Rebbeck on 38 and Davidge on 37.

Division Two went to Knowles with 40 from Williams on 37 and Brian Taylor on 36. Spencer topped Division Three with 34.

Atkinson leads the top division with 105 points from Davidge 89, Richard Steele 85 and Jeff Thomas 84. Heading Division Two is Phillips on 99 with Knowles on 95 and Rob Wetton, Dyment and Williams on 92.

Spencer holds a lead in Division Three with 105, 14 ahead of Adrian Wood, while Malcolm Bradley has 83 and Steade 82.

Bransford’s Mark Tipton held his captain’s away day at Walsall. Team event winners with 86 were Graham Barnett, Ian Hamilton, Harry Corbett and Richard Tocknell, while the individual victor was Steve Taylor with 38 points.

Count-back decided the runner-up spot with Jenny Bennett just edging out Stuart Crump on 37.

A field of 68 contested the Bank House Trophy.

Josh Bourne (24) won with 45 points followed Joe Turner (23) on 45, Darren Jones (16) on 42, Dave Lewis (10) on 41 and Harry Chadwick (5), Graham Ward (17) and Lee Tally (19) on 40.

The captain’s putter competition was won by Wayne Harris on +4 with Peter Anthony runner-up and Sean Jones third, both on +3.