DANIEL Day and David Annis starred as Worcester Swimming Club competed in the prestigious National Arena League finals for the first time.

They represented the West Midlands in the B competition in Cardiff, having finished just two points behind Derby in the regional event.

Improving Worcester, who have finished fifth, fourth, third and second in the last four regional finals, were one of only two debutant teams along with Bromley.

They received the award for best supported team and the swimmers battled hard in the pool with the city finishing 10th on 195.

City of Cardiff were runaway winners with 390 from Northampton on 296 and Camden Swiss Cottage on 295.

Against strong opposition, podium finishes were hard to come by but Annis, 12, and Day, 14, managed a brace each.

Day was first in the 100-metre backstroke in 1.03.00 to finish well ahead for a new national league record and finished narrowly second in the 50m freestyle.

Annis was first in the 50m backstroke in 33.74 seconds, which was over a second clear of his nearest challenger, before snatching second place in a tight 50m freestyle race.

Club-mate Olivia Fletcher swam 1.00.20 for third in the girls' 16/u 100m freestyle.

Worcester head coach Mark Stowe was delighted with the performance.

He said: “The club’s ambition now must be to build on this success in the next few years, qualify again for the national finals and finish higher up the table in the B final or even secure a place in the A final.”


Amelie Fox-Haskins, Maisie Lyons, Isobel Foster, Amelie Forsyth-Ball, Olivia Eggleton, Rebeeca Yates, Lauren Annis, Aimee Monks, Lydia Cooper, Amelia Gearey, Megan Annis, Holly Workman, Josie Armstrong, Olivia Fletcher, Jenny Gearey, Maddie Fox-Haskins, Naomi Marsden, Lucy Clayton, Tabby Monkhouse, Charlotte Hall, David Annis, Michael Agoston, Charlie Dixon, Harry Chandler, William Thomas, Beau Vaughan-Hawkins, Daniel Day, George Glover, Brodie Willetts, Adam Rutter, Eddie Cox, Alex Farmer, William Gearey, Aaron Cook, Louis Doyle, Matthew Richards, Sam Hall, Robin Williams, Matthew Thomas, Anthony Redfern, Joel Smith.