THE senior pairs open at Bransford again proved to be a huge success with a full house of 136 players from a variety of Midlands clubs.

Pairings from the host club filled most of the leading spots but Droitwich duo Ade Spencer and Trevor Lloyd just pipped Bransford’s John Phillips and Rob Blake for top spot and £70 of pro shop vouchers after both pairs ended on 46 points.

In the pairs better-ball competition, Bransford's Mario Eastham and Andrew Jarvis and Trevor Atkinson and Pete Sheppard finished on 45.

Club-mates Gerry Rebbeck and Dave Ryall were fifth on 44 with Bransford's Dave Miller and Matt Lloyd from Puckrup Hall on 43 along with Lee Jeniec (Puckrup Hall) and Stephen Allard (Boughton Park), Brian Johnston and Martin Stanley (Drayton Park) and Tim Evans and Mike Simpson (Droitwich).

Four finished on 42 in Keith Leadbetter (Bransford) and Graham Dodge (Sapey), Ian Pritchard and Marshall Smart (Bransford), Simon Hayward and Brian Cotton (Tewkesbury Park) and Steve Marsh (The Vale) and Richard Gaunt (Coventry Hearshall).

Nearest-the-pin prizes went to Bransford’s Alan Ford (0-14 handicap), Gaunt (15-19) and Jarvis (20+ handicap).

Atkinson won the Mike Kemp Cup, a foursome competition with stableford scoring, with wife June on 40 points.

Dick Bettsworth and Graham Wilks, Tony Bowman and Alan Cockill and Brian Taylor and John Knowles all scored 38.

Bransford seniors thrashed Brickhampton 6-0 for their 10th win from as many home matches.

Andy Falconer (25) and Harry Godwin (21) won 5&3, Mike Davidge (16) and Mike Weaver (19) 5&4, Ferey Ghani (15) and Alan Wallcroft (24) 5&4, Ivor Lloyd (21) and Mark Weston (25) 3&2, Peter Harrison (24) and Roger Clark (24) 4&3 and Blake (15) and Jarvis (24) 5&4.

The club’s captain's charity day provided a tight finish with three finishing on 39.

The eventual winner on countback was Sheppard (15) with Nigel Perry (7) runner-up and Darren Jones (17) third.

Stuart Freeman-Taylor (18) and Andy Kennedy (11) both had 38 while Ian Bowman (7) and Don Bolton (19) had 37.

Abi Nixon (29 handicap) won the ladies' September stableford with 35 points ahead of Leigh Thomas (18) on 34 and Trish Godwin (25) and Ann Hayden (23) on 28.