WORCESTERSHIRE duo Ed Barnard and Moeen Ali have been named in the PCA team of the year.

The duo and all members of the side – captained by Surrey’s Rory Burns – have been selected via the most valuable player rankings.

Barnard amassed 478 points and finished third overall after picking up 77 wickets and 784 runs across all formats.

Moeen totalled 406 points to finish eighth despite playing less than half of the games because of his England commitments.

He had the highest average in county cricket and led the Rapids to their Vitality Blast triumph.

The team of star performers from 2018 contained all nominees from the PCA Players’ Player of the Year shortlist with Kent’s Joe Denly and Matt Henry following Burns and Surrey team-mate Rikki Clarke in making the cut.

Six counties are represented, including at least one player from every county that either won a trophy or gained promotion.

Selected ahead of the last round of County Championship fixtures and via the MVP formula, the team consists of the best-performing individuals in each position.

The final XI is selected on batting, bowling and fielding points across all competitions as well as average points per match in county cricket.