WORCESTER Hockey Club women’s seconds were confirmed as Worcestershire League Division One champions on goal difference despite losing 2-1 at second-placed Bromsgrove firsts.

The city side’s keeper Liz Furber and her defence kept the score level as their team settled into the game.

The game opened up and a well-placed cross from Elly Shepherd found Worcester’s overall top-scorer Libby Wycherley on the edge of the D to put it past the Bromsgrove keeper.

Bromsgrove hit back with pressure and levelled before half-time.

Opportunities went begging for Worcester in the second half and they were tested by a series of penalty corners at the other end which eventually resulted in the winner.

The final accolade was being awarded the club’s team of the year accolade at the annual dinner and award ceremony later in the evening.

Worcester thirds ended their season with a four-match winning streak after beating Stourport fifths 3-1 in Division Two.

Captain Abi Clarke set up Caitlin Lane to score the opener with a tidy strike in from the far post.

Sophie Bray scored the second and a good passing move between Katie Ralph and Catrin Lucas saw the latter claim the third.

The young fourths team ended the Division Three season with a 2-0 victory at Droitwich seconds and also finished fifth.

Kerry Lawrence turned from striker to sweeper and marshalled an inexperienced defence well.

There was a strong performance from the youngsters, particularly Ellie Overfield on the left wing.

After a period of dominance Sophie Bray scored a first-half opener and Overfield ran down the wing to set up Caitlin Davies for the second goal.

The firsts finished sixth in Midland Feeder West.

Worcester are looking for more players of all ages and standards. For more, visit worcesterhockey.co.uk.