MOEEN Ali says Worcestershire Rapids' players are determined to become the first side to win back-to-back T20 titles in this country.

But first the County gear up for Friday night’s Vitality Blast quarter-final with Sussex Sharks at the 1st Central County Ground, Hove (7pm).

Rapids reached finals day for the first time last September and went on to lift the trophy after defeating Sharks by five wickets in the final.

It sparked emotional scenes after two match-winning knocks from wicketkeeper Ben Cox against Lancashire Lightning and Sharks helped the County over the finishing line.

Now Rapids are striving to achieve what no county has managed since the competition was launched in 2003 in retaining the Blast.

The club's Blast captain Moeen said: “We experienced finals day for the first time last year and had an amazing day with obviously winning it but the whole atmosphere and the way the day is run is fantastic.

“Credit to the organisers and it is an amazing event. It is exactly that — an event.

“Everyone wants to go back, play finals day and experience that again because it was amazing and great for the club.

“But the one thing this group of players want to do is be the first team to win it back-to-back because no one has done that. That’s our aim this year.”

England international Moeen, 32, scored 41 runs and claimed 3-30 with his spin in last season's final against Sussex.

Ahead of Friday's rematch with all tickets sold out, Moeen said of Sharks: “They are still a very good side and at home they are very formidable — but we are also a very good side.

“I know we’ve had a couple of losses recently but it doesn’t take anything away from the fact we are the champions and we’ve got a title to defend.”

Rapids are without overseas batsman Hamish Rutherford as he has jetted out to play a T20 international for New Zealand.

Jason Behrendorff will no longer be available for Sharks with a recurrence of a back injury prompting Western Australia to recall the left-arm seamer for treatment ahead of the start of the Australian season.