BRITISH & Irish Lions Head Coach, Warren Gatland, has named his side for the first Test against the Springboks at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday 24 July (kick off 5pm BST).

Worcester Warriors' Duhan van der Merwe will start on the wing and prop Rory Sutherland will be on the bench for the first test.

Tour captain Alun Wyn Jones will skipper the Lions having recovered from a dislocated shoulder sustained in the tourists 28-10 win over Japan at Murrayfield Stadium just 24 days ago.

In doing so, the Welsh lock will win his tenth-successive Test cap for the Lions in Cape Town, moving him into an illustrious list of Lions legends to have made 10 Test appearances or more, including Gareth Edwards (10), Graham Price (12), Mike Gibson (12) Dickie Jeeps (13) and Willie-John McBride (17). Jones is the first however to play 10 Tests for the famous touring side in the professional era.

The iconic Welshman will be joined in the second row by Maro Itoje who claims his fourth successive Lions Test cap.

Elsewhere, Wyn Jones, Luke Cowan-Dickie and Tadhg Furlong make up the front row.

Courtney Lawes, packs down on the blind side flank to win his third Lions test appearance, having won his previous two from the bench in the second and third Tests in New Zealand in 2017.

Tom Curry is named on the open side, with Jack Conan filling the No.8 shirt.

After impressing against the DHL Stormers last Saturday, scrum-half Ali Price joins No.10 Dan Biggar in the half back berths.

Robbie Henshaw, who made his comeback from a hamstring injury last weekend, partners Elliot Daly in midfield.

Anthony Watson wins his fourth Lions Test cap as he takes his spot on the wing opposite Duhan van der Merwe with fellow Scot, Stuart Hogg, rounding off the side at fullback.