MOUNTAIN bike World Champion Evie Richards has been selected to represent Team England at this summer's Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

Malvern's Richards will be hoping to go one better than she did in 2018 when she won silver at the Games on the Gold Coast, Australia.

The former Chase School pupil has struggled with injury this year but looks set to be fit to represent her county and Malvern in the mountain bike event at the Games, which will be held on Wednesday August 3 at Cannock Chase Forest.

Richards came seventh in her maiden Olympic Games appearance last summer in Tokyo before going on to win the World Championship just weeks later.

Here is the full team of cyclists for Birmingham 2022: 

Track Cycling:

  • Blaine Ridge-Davis – Manchester (from London)
  • Charlie Tanfield – Stockport, Manchester (from North Yorkshire)
  • Dame Laura Kenny – Cheshire (from Harlow)
  • Ethan Vernon – Macclesfield, Cheshire (from Bedford)
  • Grace Lister – Shrewsbury, Shropshire
  • Hayden Norris – Stafford
  • Joe Truman – Manchester (from Hampshire)
  • Josie Knight – Macclesfield, Cheshire (from Buckinghamshire)
  • Lauren Bate – Stockport, Manchester (from St Helens)
  • Maddie Leech –  Manchester (from Huddersfield)
  • Milly Tanner – Stockport, Manchester (from Exeter)
  • Oliver Wood – Stockport, Manchester (from Wakefield)
  • Ryan Owens – Manchester (from Milton Keynes)
  • Sophie Capewell – Cheadle, Manchester (from Burton On Trent)
  • Sophie Lewis – Cheadle, Manchester (from Peterborough)
  • Hamish Turnbull – Manchester (from Northumberland)

Track cycling (Para):

  • Sophie Unwin – Honiton, Devon (from Salisbury)
  • Georgia Holt, Pilot for Sophie – Oldham, Manchester (from Nottingham)
  • Steve Bate MBE – Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
  • Chris Latham, Pilot for Steve – Comberbach, Cheshire (from Bolton

Road Cycling:

  • Abi Smith – York, North Yorkshire
  • Alice Barnes – Stockport, Cheshire (from Oxford)
  • Anna Henderson, Buckinghamshire
  • Ben Turner – Doncaster, Yorkshire
  • Connor Swift – Doncaster, Yorkshire
  • Dan Bigham – Stone, Staffordshire (from Newcastle)
  • Ethan Hayter – Manchester (from London)
  • Fred Wright – Cheadle, Cheshire (from London)
  • Jake Stewart – Birch Vale, Derbyshire (from Coventry)
  • Josie Nelson – Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire (from Lichfield)
  • Joss Lowden – Andorra (from Lewes, East Sussex)
  • Matt Walls – Oldham, Lancashire (from Oldham)

Mountain Bike:

  • Evie Richards – Malvern, Worcestershire
  • Harry Birchill – Newton Abbot, Devon (from Torquay)
  • Joseph Blackmore – Bexleyheath, Kent (from Sidcup)