Worcester Warriors' captain Ted Hill has been left out of England's 23-man squad to take on the Barbarians at Twickenham on Sunday.

Hill had been in the training camp for the last two weeks but Eddie Jones has gone with more tried and tested back-row options to face the Baa-Baas.

Sam Underhill (27 caps) and Tom Curry (captain, 35 caps) are the two flankers, with Harlequins' Alex Dombrandt at number eight.

The options off the bench are 90-cap Courtney Lawes and Wasps' Jack Willis.

Whilst Australian Jones has gone with an experienced back-row, he has adopted a fresh approach to the front-row with the Likes of Harlequins' Jack Walker and Will Collier, as well as Bevan Rodd from Sale.

The backs see the likes of Harry Randall, Marcus Smith and Gloucester's Mark Atkinson start, as well as Bath's Joe Cokanasiga and Tommy Freeman of Northampton Saints. Gloucester's Jonny May returns to the side and Joe Marchant also gets a run in the midfield.

Jones said: "This is a young team, they have prepared really well and worked hard over the past few camps to come together as a group. It is a great opportunity to play in this England XV side and show what they can do.

"We are looking forward to playing against an unusually French Barbarians side – which you normally only get when you play the French Barbarians.

"We’ll use it as an opportunity to develop combinations and assess players for the Australia tour.

"We will put our best foot forward and it should make for a great game of rugby for all of the supporters at Twickenham."

England team to face Barbarians:

15. Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints)

14. Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)

13. Joe Marchant (Harlequins)

12. Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby)

11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

10. Marcus Smith (Harlequins)

9. Harry Randall (Bristol Bears)

1. Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks)

2. Jack Walker (Harlequins)

3. Will Collier (Harlequins)

4. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

5. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs)

6. Tom Curry (C) (Sale Sharks)

7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)

8. Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins)


16. Jack Singleton (Gloucester Rugby)

17. Will Goodrick-Clarke (London Irish)

18. Patrick Schickerling (Exeter Chiefs)

19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

20. Jack Willis (Wasps)

21. Danny Care (Harlequins)

22. Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby)

23. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)